The one the only…yes…VENICE

Everytime I think of Venice, for whatever reason, I get Vivaldi’s four seasons playing in my head. Now I don’t know if this is caused by a strange chemical imbalance, or maybe I have my very own soundtrack playing, but whatever the case…these movements remind me of Venice.

Now I don’t know if many people would have the insight, but Vencie has been the city I’ve always wanted to visit. The reason was around the age of 7 or 10, I opened a book about Venice and staring back at me were these magical pictures. Water ways…gondolas, magnificient views and just the fact that…its a city on water. Let me repeat that IT…IS…A…FUCKING…CITY…ON…WATER.

This is where you drive...can you believe it

This is where you drive...can you believe it

There is no other place like it in the world…others may try and copy it (cough…cough…uh Amsterdam…Bruges) but there is no copy cat to the one and only.

My first day I thought would be best spent walking the city and seeing what there is to be seen, tasting what there is to be tasted and buying…well you get the idea.

So I strap on my walking legs and get to it…now wouldn’t you know it…I wonder uppon a poster advertising a Vivaldi concert…that very night…playing……..can you guess it?……………..Yeesss…sound it out…Vi…Val…DI…very good…you get a gold star.

So I whip out my……wallet…sheesh you sickos…and buy up a ticket faster then a perverted thought can pop into your immature minds.(ya that quick)

With ticket in hand and a smile on my face…time to walk the entire city of Venice. Back streets…side streets…nooks…crannies…corners…plateaus you name it I was there…oh and ya I got lost a few times too.*shrugs* eh…what can you do. An interesting tid bit of info is, if you decide to walk a few blocks away from the enormous tourist flow, you can be in trenquile Venice…all by yourself…its pretty cool.

Minutes earlier you were with a huge bustle of people…now…you have the entire street to yourself (good thing if you ever need to take a piss break and don’t want to pay one euro to use the public toilettes)

Because of my knack for finding these back streets I found some really cool picturesque areas, but for some strange reason…no cheaper shops. Turns out all the shops are located in the central tourist area…so ya you end up paying for it. Also a crappy thing is when you’re walking down the streets…heavingly aromas of pizza, pasta and any other Italian dishes pumping into your nostrils…and you’re minding your budget…starving your ass off. Don’t worry I…waaas…able to find a cheap place to buy pizza…mmm Magnificient.

Suposevely it’s Pizza in Venice and Pasta in Rome…oh well I endulged into both while I was there…and I must say…the Italians may be great at gropping chicks, but they’re also magic when it comes to those foods…mmm…mmm…mmm bitch. One negative note tho…don’t sit down at a resturant unless you want to pay, 12 percent service fee and…get this…a cover charge…hahaha. I didn’t know that at first, so I thought the dude was trying to rip me off. Well I sure learned quickly.

Oh, but the Gelati or Gelato…boy oh boy…don’t get me started on that devilish concoction…Flavour upon flavour sparked with more flavour.

It goes like this…you take one taste, and your taste buds start doing back flips and all these gymnastic type things…then you take another taste and in walks the taste mafia and they start shooting the fuck out of your taste buds giving them a buzz like none other…ya that good (geez don’t ask me where I come up with this stuff)

Now the Vivaldi concert…hahaha…complete randomness…I like it.

Not much to explain…it was pretty close to as perfect as I could’ve imagined. Inside this huge historic building full of paintings and gold. The string orchestra performed the four seasons and I was pretty estatic. In Venice…listining to this Vivaldi…I even got that tingling feeling at the back of my neck.

My second day was full of exploration again. This time I travelled over to the other Island across from mainland Venice…very quiet spot…beautiful view of the city and if you’re lucky enough…climb up to the roof of a church and you get a breathtaking panoramic view of Venice.

After the little excursion to that part of Venice I had worked up a little bit of hunger…sooo pizza and gelato time. Oh that reminds me…if you think back, I had a character by the name of Captain Xcursion, who I was taking pictures with…well folks…turns out I lost the little fellow somewhere in Germany…ya pretty shitty…so won’t be seeing him by the leaning tower, or the colloseum 😦

Alrighty…back to the story.

Aside from the food and culture of Venice…this place is also known for its crazy festivals, unique costumes and masks like none other. These masks are amazing…unfortunately I wanted a mask that was completely different from all the rest. This was a tough task…even tougher being on a budget. I found the maks from V for Vandetta…pretty sweet, but not paying 80 euros for it.

I searched and searched…until on the last day…the last hour of my stay…I literally stumble upon the awesomest…most magnificiently majestical mask shop of magnitudical moronic proportions. Any mask you could think of they had…here’s a few for you…Wolverine, Daredevil, Ogres, Spiderman, Jack from nightmare before Christmas…sheesh…ya all that and more. I ended up finding the creepiest/sweetest clown mask ever…It’s black and kinda looks like this.

Juuuuuuuuuuust not as scary. I’ll put up pictures come Halloween…right now I’ve got it all packed up and safe.

With the mask in the bag…the food in my belly and the culture soaking in me the last three days I was on cloud ten and three quarters.

One of the best cities I’ve visited…you can just walk for hours and never be bored. The thing is…you can really see it all in three days…it just depends on how you want to see it. The city is soooo relaxed…the food is sooo good and just sitting along the grand canale…nothing beats it.

Everyone must see this city…you could basically just fly to the city and spend all your money on the food (can you tell I can’t get enough of it…no kidding…I like my food) Ya…and just so those that want to take a gondola tour…the grande canal costs 200 euros, regualar canal costs 100 and up…so ya…me and my love didn’t take one…hahaha. Definitely a good spot for a honeymoon for all you lovey doveys.

Leave a Reply

