The Job hunt of Jubilations

*Writers note: Should have had this out muuuuuuuch sooner…however, fucking hostel’s internet went down for four days…thanks to all those that keep on following*

Ahh buddy jesus

Ahh buddy jesus

Drunken madness…11 hours straight partying…Australia Day…my Birthday…Girls…Booze…KFC…and…FUN TUMULTUOUS TIMEZ OF TANZABAR.

All those need they’re very own episode, therefore I’m going to write about the glorific leadup to these superb adventures.

THE JOB HUNT OF JUBILATION STARTS NOW…

It was a balmy 27 degrees when I hit the street for the first time in Brisbane.

img_2070

Who would have thought that after four months and two weeks, my monetary funds would be running slightly lower then expected(well if you “HAD” thought of that…keep it to yourself…jerk :P)

Anyway…time to pound the pavement and hand out resumes.

MY LIFE FOR THE NEXT WEEK

MY LIFE FOR THE NEXT WEEK

This was probably one of the funniest times for trying to get a job. I’d go into all sorts of nooks and crannies of places. Some people would sound positive, some would sound rude, or some just smelled like the mix of a used diaper with Indian food, but all in all, I was keeping a positive outlook. Even when one guy took one look at me and said…Is that your actual hair?(ya I know…trying for the Hilton…hey…it was worth a shot)

img_2068

For three days, I was out from 11am until 5pm. The streets of Brisbane had become my office…the stores on them…my conquests. It was all about selling myself…in the non-prostitute way…to make these employers employ this employee. Still…no one wanted to hire a scraggly haired… Canadian traveler kid. Most thought I wouldn’t stay around.

Soon enough…I’d handed out all my resumes and to places I never thought I’d work…but fuck…I was desperate people…money low…rent high…and my stomach wasn’t taking any holidays…soooo…Subway…7-Eleven…other fast food places, but luckily…not McDonalds.(Even tho…if I still couldn’t find a job…well…ahem…would you like an apple pie with that?)

Luckily for me, Brisbane has a great…grand…spectacular nightlife…where if you look properly…doesn’t charge cover. So yippeee…hot girls…loud music…free entry…ahhh…time to unwind.

img_2081

If there wasn’t anything of the sort…I may not have lasted as long…but thankfully, I stuck it out and it eventually paid off…guess what? Someone took a chance on me. Ya can you fucking believe that. Took a look at my resume and thought…ya this kid is the real deal…well lucky me.

The guy calls me up, tells me to be in on Thursday for a run through, so I show up and almost as fast as I can put the apron on, he’s telling me to make sandwiches for the customers.

img_2075

So picture this…people telling me what kind of sandwich and shit they want on it, and me just going about making it how I see fit…oh…you don’t want it toasted…well…it tastes better this way. 😀

But I’m not a complete idiot…or well…my mom tells me I’m not…haha…so therefore I start getting the hang of the sandwich shop and how much everything costs and VOILA VAGINAS…I start speeding up the process and feeling alot more comfortable.

The people I work with are very helpful and awesome people…except for one douchebag who starts acting all big shit like…making me do shitty jobs just cus he can…ohhh whatever…this little ol bald man has nothing going for him…he needs to feel special somewhere.

Eventually…my shifts up and I’m hired. It was a pretty good feeling…over coming adversity…blowing through the constraints put out by the establishment…creating dreams while still crushing pus…uh…pusillanimity…ya…now doesn’t that sound like a great tag line for a movie or something?

Anyway…I grab my work slips and gallantly skip home to the beat of my own drum…then trip and spend 5 minutes on the ground wheezing, going…ahhhh…and grasping my leg…

Awesomenss…I’ve got a jobby

Now…it’s time to party…but yet…I may have a job, but I’m not getting any richer…as of yet.

So this needs to be very thought out…do I spend my party money, today because of my job or wait until the weekend for all the shenanigans that are bound to happen? Well…it took some time…but of course I made the right choice…EVERYBODY’S WORKING FOR THE WEEKEND.

r_1214610777_yay

Leave a Reply

